All The Time In The World

..what do we do with it?

 

Hey everyone! I’m back in Montana! We’ve finished our Fall DTS and our students are graduated! They shared the Gospel in other nations and are moving forward radically transformed by Jesus. They allowed him to give them His heart.  As a school, we saw about 56 salvations, there were around 1200 people prayed for, we gave out 300 bibles, built a home, and were the hands and feet of Jesus to the Dominican Republic and Mexico!!These graduates are passionate for missions, for their own communities, and about making a change in their generation. Hallelujah!

 

It’s totally insane to think about how fast the last six months have gone by. The concept of time grows more and more strange to me as I continue on with every year, and this is the question I’ve found myself asking Jesus..“What do I do with my time?”

 

Time is part of our reality. I can’t escape it- so how can I make the most of it? I want to share with you something one of my friends shared with me during a week I was really wrestling with having enough time..

 

Imagine you’re in Disney Land..you walk in the gates and all the rides are before you. Gift shops, vendors, games…the park is yours. Excitement fills you, which ride will you go on first? But before you start, you only have an hour. One hour. 

 

How could you possibly decide what to do, the order, which not to do..etc.?

 

While you’re freaking out..Jesus shows up and is like ‘Yo, Disney Land is rad’ (at least I imagine he’d say that..haha)are and He tells you to close your eyes. He then leads you on to specific rides in the order He planned. And you have a blast!

 

Life with Jesus is so similar. Placed before us are all these decisions. Go to school, start a career, get married, be in missions, have a family, serve, start a business, be an entrepreneur, create, make enough money, etc. On top of these (really good) choices we get to decide the order, the importance, and how well we do all of them. 

Something Jesus told me the other day was “Time is freedom”. I just need you to read that again. Now, maybe you feel the opposite like me at times, but this statement is actually so true. If we commit our plans, time, energy, and hope to Jesus He will lead us! The Bible has so much to say about plans too..

 

Proverbs 16:3 Says “Commit your work to the Lord, and your plans will be established.” 

 

“Where your treasure is, there is your heart will be also.” Lk 12:34

 

“Trust in the Lord and lean not on your own understanding. In all your days acknowledge Him and He will make straight your paths.” Prv 3:5-6.

 

Theres a theme throughout these verses revealing how God is in control. How when we make Him the center of everything we do, there is enough time for everything He has for us. He leads us and helps us prioritize what’s on His heart and even aligns our hearts with His! I’m taken back to that simple phrase..

 

“Time is Freedom”

 

Because we are free, we get to decide if we want what’s on Gods heart.

 

As believers I realize we don’t have all the time in the world, but we do have freedom in Jesus to live for Him NOW with the promise of eternity beyond that! When we commit our time to God we are truly free. But how are we using our freedom?

 

I want to invite you into an opportunity. Paul, an eyewitness of Jesus Christ, writes in the book of Galatians about freedom. He says “You are free, brothers and sisters. Only, don’t use your freedom for yourself but use it for others….love your neighbor as yourself. 

Are we using our freedom only for ourselves or are we using it to love? This Fall DTS used their freedom for others. They made sacrifices to practically love people who they had never met before. We used our time, passions, skills, money, creativity, and love-for the benefit of others. Our staff team and people all around the campus used their time and freedom to serve, love, for the benefit of others.

 

So, together, how can we continue to move forward together using the time we have, our gifts, and freedom to love one another?

 

 

 

Thank you to those of you who have made this time in missions possible! Thank you all for your prayer and support for me and my team! Jesus is on the move!

 

 

Stay tuned for another update about what’s next for me in this season!

 

 

 

Write a comment

Comments: 0