Blog 15/ Good Grace

       The second week of seminar is finished and oh boy can I tell you how good it is to be back in Montana!?


       A sign titled, “Welcome to Lakeside” catches my eye and stirs up an excitement, a calling. I’m met with so many familiar faces and memories from last fall. 

I step onto my longboard and cruz out into the parking lot,

 “This is fall right?” 

The vapor from my breath and minuscule snowflakes hitting my face answered the question I muttered to myself quietly. I proceeded to grab the snow coat out of my Jeep. 


       So in case you haven’t been keeping up with me, I’m back in Montana for NINE months studying the word of God. Everyone’s like-how do you have to time read the Bible 5 times? No-that’s literally all I’m doing right now-just studying the word!


    SBS, (School of Biblical Studies), though we’re only finishing seminar(first 3 weeks), has been transformative. 

  -> HAVE YOU EVER READ THE BIBLE? I hadn’t-not even close to the whole thing. And every time I approached the Bible, it was for personal knowledge. I understood some theology, and a lot of why’s and who’s but all for the sake of just knowing it. 

      [Let the text (Bible) speak for itself.]

Since being here, I’ve learned how to read the Bible. I mean really read it. By dropping my presuppositions, and leaving all my previous ‘knowledge’ at the door,

It’s like I’m reading it for the first time.


   > The Bible was written for us, not to us <

 This week I finished Ephesians and we’ve already been through Philemon and Titus as well. The continual theme Paul strings through them is Grace. “Grace be with you..” “By grace you have been saved..” “justified by grace” and on and on.

       He gives us grace-And in fact is grace! He’s been revealing to me that despite my shortcomings and ‘problems’ His grace is enough-and it was poured out for me.


   I had the privledge to sit and have lunch with the founders of SBS and of course I had to ask for advice!

       To sum up all the wonderful wisdom and stories I got to hear, I had two main takeaways. 1. “Have fun!” 2. “Realize the privledge!” How crazy is that? I could be the best at time managing, great at memorizing, and turn everything in on time-but still miss the mark. I’m not here to get good grades, I’m here to Know God More, and become more equipt to Make Him know. And what a blessing it is to do just that in a beautiful place, with wonderful people for he next nine months!


       Alsooo- I just want to say a HUGE THANK YOU to everyone who has supported me financially and through prayer! You guys are making it possible for me to study and and be transformed by the living Word of God.

Write a comment

Comments: 0