Blog 11/ Ordinarily Extraordinary

       Wowie! 

       It's hard to believe that I've already been back home for three months! A big lesson I'm learning right now is finding extraordinary things in ordinary life. For those of you who have traveled, you know it can be hard coming back home, wherever that is. After seeing the ancient ruins of Greece, and watching people saved in tiny villages in Ukraine, home can feel a little dull at times. "I'm not growing as fast, I feel out of place, and there's nothing here for me." These are some things I find myself saying- BUT those are simply not true. Just because I can't see the booming growth like I was during my DTS doesn't mean I'm not growing. I know Jesus has brought me home for this season for a reason- He has been giving me LOTS of opportunities for discipleship, servantship, and building relationships! And even though life back looks different than what I thought it’d look like, it doesn't mean that Jesus can't continue growing me and stretching me.

He is the God of restoration, and His heart longs for unity, growth, and dependence upon Him.

       The beautiful landscapes of my valley are just a little reminder of Jesus' love for me. On the drives home when the brilliant rays of sun pierce through the clouds and rest upon the tips of the snowy-capped Eagle Mountains or when the scene of the wildflower decorated-grassy hills lead upward to the vibrant red eye-catching sunset, I lose myself. In the midst of beauty, I lose myself. I just want to get out of my car and dance and sing! (Probably not a good idea because I'm on the freeway..)​ Then I’m reminded, this is how God is towards us! He calls us His children, we were made in His image, and adopted into His family! He wants us! [Genesis 1:27]


      I can never do anything extraordinary. I cannot create revival, raise up a generation to fasting and prayer, or hardly get out of bed on a Saturday. My life is simple and ordinary, but if I make myself available to Jesus, saying-

 “DO ANYTHING YOU WANT WITH ME!” That’s when He moves, and breathes out His power, and releases His plans over us. When we create space for Him, prioritize Him, and live a life of dying to self- that's when we see the ordinary become extraordinary.  We are called to be available to Christ. 


Write a comment

Comments: 0