Blog 10/ Cultivating Devotion

      Wow, it’s already been a little over a month since I’ve been home back in the beautiful valley! 

       It’s been SO good being back, though I’ve faced lots of ups and downs. I’ve been blessed to gather in our beautiful springtime city-centered park, filled with lots of littles picnicking together, fellowship on Tuesday Mornings (when my alarm actually goes off..) and SO MANY opportunities working at my local coffee shop! These have been some super good days-started off with Jesus time and anticipation of the things He wants to do.

       But, there are mornings when I’m running late, rushing out the door with my hair half brushed, and quiet times that don’t feel all that quiet. Times where the old mindset of legalism tries to run the show, and simply days when I just feel sad. Whether I’m so homesick for Montana and everyone there, or relationships with family/friends aren’t going how I thought they would- there is, and always will be, one thing that keeps my heart going. Something I can go to that strengthens my passion and hope. And that’s the Bible.

       Time and time again, we as Christians (talking to myself here...) go in and out of seasons, and sometimes allow those times to influence our actions. But, the results of our actions, can directly impact our seasons. How we respond, act, and relate with people & situations, DIRECTLY reflects our relationship with Jesus. 

—> You become more like the people you spend time with. It’s a good parallel to any other relationship. 

       In my DTS, my friend Larn (Lauren from ywam) was a funny, vociferous gal. And the more time I spent with her, the louder I became and the more I spoke like her. It was very humorous. Jeremy (my boyfriend) and I are a lot alike already, but even still-his passion and devotion to Christ spill out and influence me daily. We pick up on each other jokes, use the same silly slang, and create time for one another. We become more like each other, the more time we spend together. AND it’s the same with Jesus! The more time I spend in the Bible, the more clearly I’m able to hear His voice. The more time I spend in His presence, the more I am reminded of how worthy He is of praise, and of my identity in Him. When we spend time with Jesus, we become more like Him. And that can influence every area of our lives.

       With all the opportunities I have being home, not only do I want to reflect Jesus, but I want to do like He would do. The classic #WWJD right!? 

       

       We are constantly moving forward in our walks with Jesus, and that requires growth. He will challenge us all in different ways, and draw us out of our comfort zones at different times. As of right now, the biggest challenge He has given me, is to dream. Dreaming big dreams. To believe that God will use my passions, hopes, and desires, in big ways, to glorify Him. Dreaming as out of my comfort zone, because hope was required. But now, my hope is in Christ, the author and perfecter. (Hebrews 12:2) —^

The one who dreamed my destiny before I existed, and then wrapped my being around it. <— (Psalm 139)

       Being in relationship with Jesus is the purpose of everything I do. To love him and obey him. It’s why I am a Christian. To cultivate devotion, “To do the things no one wants to, to get the results no one has.” To make space for Jesus to move, and not to put Him in a box. In this season, the Bible, obedience, and complete dependency upon Him are my sword and shield. 







       ~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

                 PRAYER POINTS


  • Provision financially for my School of Biblical Studies in the fall!
  • For a friend moving to Ukraine in the fall!
  • One Nation One Day Peru!

https://1nation1day.com/

  • Continual devotion to prayer & fasting for the States and the nations!

Write a comment

Comments: 0