Update-Lecture Phase

Hello again!

       This is my last week in the lecture phase of my DTS here in YWAM at the Montana base! I was privileged to be on the worship team leading our commissioning night and participated in a cardboard testimony. Unfortunately we wouldn’t all be able to give testimonies-or we would have been there for hours (maybe till breakfast) like our first Monday here at our DTS.
       Upon looking back at our lecture phase, Jesus has done so much in my heart and life. If I wrote it all down, there would never be enough space. One of the first weeks we had was “Hearing the Voice of God”. This was a week of stretching and really learning to listen! (As most of you know, I like talking) but it was a challenge-because in DTS, we’re taught applicable things, and applying them pushed me out of my comfort zone! There were different exercises we did, some were prophetic and some were to grow our listening skills! 
       Our third week was “The Fatherheart of God”
This week started out tough for me, as I haven’t had a Godly father figure, but it was from this week God presented me with a seed-but the soil was not ready to be planted in yet.
      Week six we had our mini-outreach and this took us to Spokane Washington! We learned more about how to evangelize on streets, partner with the Holy Spirit in healing, we worked with homeless ministries, and I was given an opportunity to share my testimony publicly. This week I was presented with a piece of God’s heart for His people!
       Week eight was “Holy Spirit” week! 
This week was BIG for me! I come from a carasmatic background, but coming into DTS I had no expectations EXCEPT that Jesus was going to show up, meet us, and begin to heal my heart!
That week He met me in a new way-and on one of those nights, Jesus gave me a new heart. He broke off the shame I had, He broke off the fear I had, and He got rid of my brokenness. He replaced it with His love, a love for myself, and a bigger love for my friends and family! We also had “giving night” that week. I came with one request, something I’d been praying for, for about a year. I also came with en excitement that He was going to have me give things! (He’d been showing me all I had was from Him anyway and I was ready to whatever he asked.) As the night went on, there were guitars and plants and various things given away. And as they were a few things I gave up, I kept going to God. Next thing I know a young man from my dts walks up to me and gives me the thing only God ( and like 2 others) knew I had been asking for. A CAMERA! So, this was the one thing I’d been asking Him for-but ya know what!? Jesus showed me that He is a good father who loves giving His children good gifts, and I received many more gifts that night as well!
       Week nine our lectures were “Life With Jesus” and one of the main things that I was able to take from this week was that anything I think that belongs to me, doesn’t really, because it’s all been given FROM Jesus. During this week, I as finally able to understand the gravity and weight of what Jesus did for us not o my on the cross, but also coming to earth in the first place. Think of this: God gave us His living, beating heart-through sending Jesus to the earth, and us humans rejected it. Not only did we reject it, but we destroyed it. HE MADE THAT CHOICE! And He rose, and He loves us! 
I was able to lay down all of “my” rights and “my” belongings and give them back to Jesus.
      This week (Week eleven) was our final week in our “Lecture Phase” and it was “Missions week”
As I type this, I’m also processing it. I think this week was my favorite, not only because of the information I was given, but also God gave me something I’ve been praying for. His heart. I’ve never felt a calling to a specific place or people, nor have I ever had an actual understanding of missions. But this week God spoke to me the significance of “The Great Comission.” How had I taken it so lightly all along? 
    “Go therefore and make disciples of all nations, baptizing them in the name of the Father and of the Son and of the Holy Spirit, teaching them to observe all that I have commanded you. And behold, I am with you always, to the end of the age."” Matthew‬ ‭28:19-20‬ ‭
      He says “GO!” And He revealed to me that this is what He wants me to do. And He also revealed to me that is is what we are ALL called to do! Make disciples of ALL nations! He has shown me the importance of following what he said, and I have placed myself in a position of “leaning out.” I’m ready for whatever He calls me to, and I k ow that by obeying Him, I’m RIGHT in the middle of His will.
       If I were asked to summarize our DTS lecture phase, I would say. “I’m sorry I can’t, God has done too much!” Haha! But honestly, He has changed me, from the inside out. He took my heart, an ugly plot of soil, full of prickly weeds and sharp rocks, and He saw worthyness. He got down on His hands and knees and started working and now-He is creating a beautiful garden. 
       As we prepare to leave on our outreach (Europe for 2 months!!!) I expect that God is going to allow me to express and apply all the things He has taught me during our lecture phase to different peoples I come into contact with. 
       The friendships and growth that has happened over the last three months have been astonishing, and I want to thank you all again for investing in me. You haven’t simply made an impact on my life, but can expect to make an impact on lives for an eternity.


           
           


Write a comment

Comments: 0